Promoting Positive Attachment Training 3-16-12

Aloha all,

Sorry to add this after the fact.  I know, I know, it’s like the local news showing all the great things you missed out on today, instead of telling you ahead of the event.

This engaging and informative training was developed by Same Small Boat Productions, LLC, Global Rights Reserved.  Written, Directed, and Produced by: Lynn B. Wilson, PhD, Sharon Taba, MEd.  You can see their video, aimed at those who work with children 0-3 and their families, over on YouTube.  Promoting Positive Attachment Video

Those attending included providers from PATCH, PACT,  Care Hawaii, Child & Family Services and programs from around the state.  What was delightful and unusual about the training was how the answers were drawn out of the participants–the people who were there to learn.  It felt very empowering.

Many aspects of “PPD”came up, along side positive attachment and lack thereof.  As more and more poster-sized papers were attached to the wall–with more and more descriptions of what one might see in a parent with “PPD”–the queasier my stomach felt.  My co-speaker/PPD survivor and I would go on next, to talk about our own experiences.  MY perception was of needing to clear away cobwebs before anyone could see us.  –two individuals who experienced some aspects of some of the things people brought up.  I find my reaction weird, as I normally easily volunteer my story, symptoms, my perceived causes, treatment…

I never felt tv-commercial-depressed, with that down and worn out kind of energy.  I was super anxious and had little ability to sleep.  My co-speaker and I both had “going to sleep anxiety” after a bit–because our sleep had been so disrupted, attempting to go to sleep tonight brought back last night’s unsuccessful attempt.  The night before’s attempt.  It was like sleep PTSD…post traumatic sleeplessness disturbance.

I didn’t cry much.  Didn’t feel sad.  I just worried.  As the sleep deprivation continued, I tried to control stuff.  Until my postpartum anxiety, I consider myself very competent.  Instead, I became an extreme worrier,  considering all the “what ifs” any new parent can imagine.  The scary thoughts known as PPD w/ocd.

To hear from other parents about their experiences, check out the Postpartum Support International video, Healthy Mom, Happy FamilyThe Fathers Respond video comes on after the moms, and they share what it’s like to support someone through this challenging period.  The moms’ experiences reflect mine to various degrees, and they each “ring true” from what I have heard from moms over the past 11 years, talking/replying with over a thousand moms personally.

Their experiences are well represented, as is mine, on a terrific graphic from the Pacific Post Partum Support Society, in Vancouver, BC.  Titled A Multidimensional Explanation of Postpartum Depression, it was eagerly devoured at one of the recent PPD Support HI support group meetings.  The parents felt the graphic captured their experiences accurately.  The general categories included:

  1. general losses or changes
  2. physiological
  3. psychodynamic
  4. anthropological
  5. psychosocial
  6. personality

Under those six general categories there are 30 possibilities.   A couple I see/hear frequently are having very high standards for oneself and/or some degree of perfectionism.  <waves hand>  Beyond those, there is a broad net cast as to “why” someone might develop a prenatal or postpartum mood challenge.  While the list of 30 possibilities is not comprehensive, it’s the best I’ve seen.  It feels like it came up from a group of survivors.

All this, and I have to say, I’m impressed with the breadth of knowledge the attendees.  This training style will definitely impact the trainings that PPD Support HI plans in the future, in a positive way.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

